American Association of University Women awards five college scholarships | Community News

BRATTLEBORO – The Brattleboro branch of the American Association of University Women (AAUW) has awarded five college scholarships to students in Windham County,

Hannah Lane and Clara Quinn Zacchini graduated from Brattleboro Union High School and will attend George Washington University’s Elliott School of International Affairs and the University of Denver, respectively. Lane will study humanities and social sciences, and Zacchini will start working towards becoming a medical assistant.

Raena Sanderson graduated from Leland and Gray Union High School and enrolled at Nova Southeastern University in Florida, where she will pursue a nursing degree.

Ariana Wunderle, a graduate of Bellows Falls Union High School, plans to enroll in Ithaca College’s exploratory program. This summer, she will continue her work with Circus Smirkus.

Julie Cermola will resume studies in business and accounting at the Community College of Vermont. She is an office manager at Parks Place in Bellows Falls.

This year’s scholarships were awarded in memory of educator Winifred Vogt, with funds raised by branch members through direct contributions and fundraisers such as the Coffee Stop at the Guilford Welcome Center. Norma Shakun, Karen Davis, Melanie Crosby, Gillian Winner and Michele Delhaye served as members of this year’s scholarship selection committee.

AAUW is a national organization that advances equity for women and girls through advocacy, education, philanthropy, and research. Information about the Brattleboro branch is available by contacting Vice President Membership Cassie Freese at 802-254-0030.

Andrew B. Reiter