ASEAN committee in Muscat meets to promote association in Oman

Muscat – Representatives of member countries of the Association of Southeast Asian Nations residing in Oman, the ASEAN Committee in Muscat (ACM), held a meeting last week.

ACM currently consists of Brunei Darussalam, Indonesia, Malaysia, Philippines, Thailand and Singapore.

The 35th ACM Meeting was organized and chaired by the Ambassador of Indonesia to Oman, HE Mohamad Irzan Djohan, and attended by Ambassador HE Shaiful Anuar from Malaysia, HE Imelda Panolong from the Philippines, HE Suwat Kaewsook from Thailand , Consul General Bernie Ho of Singapore, and Dzuldenny Dzulkifly, Charge d’Affaires of Brunei Darussalam.

During the biannual meeting, discussions were held to increase ASEAN cooperation and promotion in Oman.

To advance ASEAN’s cooperation with the sultanate, the ACM has agreed to carry out various activities involving local actors in aspects of economic, political and cultural cooperation. “This will include the exchange of understanding of arts and culture between ASEAN countries and the sultanate,” a press release said.

During the meeting, the AMC family cut a birthday cake and sang the ASEAN anthem.

The ACM also welcomed the signing of the Treaty of Friendship and Cooperation (TAC) by Oman, which took place on the sidelines of the ASEAN Foreign Ministers meeting early last week in Phnom Penh, in Cambodia.

The TAC is a peace treaty signed in 1976 between ASEAN members as a set of codes of conduct governing interstate relations in the region and as the foundation for maintaining regional peace and stability.

The ACM meeting also coincided with the 55th anniversary of ASEAN Day. ASEAN, which is a political and economic union of ten Southeast Asian countries, was established on August 8, 1967 in Bangkok, Thailand.

Andrew B. Reiter