CIAA Announces 2021-22 Year-End Awards

BALTIMORE, MD (May 19, 2022) – The Central Intercollegiate Athletic Association (CIAA) held its Spring Annual General Meeting and Year-End Awards Reception in Baltimore, MD. The conference office announced its highest administrative and team awards at the reception Tuesday afternoon.

Fayetteville State University’s Anthony Bennett was named CIAA Athletic Director of the Year. Under Bennett’s leadership, Fayetteville State won multiple CIAA titles in the 2021-22 sports year, including women’s cross country, women’s volleyball, women’s indoor track and field, men’s basketball and basketball. women’s outdoor athletics. The Broncos football team also earned a berth in the CIAA Football Championship for the fourth consecutive year, while FSU head coach Inez Turner earned coach honors from the year in cross-country as well as indoor and outdoor athletics this year.

Additionally, Clyde Doughty, Jr. of Bowie State University received the Jeanette Lee Sports Administrator of the Year Award, which is given to a member administrator on the recommendation of the CIAA Commissioner. Doughty has been recognized for his service and leadership throughout the COVID-19 pandemic.

Marilynn Stacey-Suggs of Claflin University has been voted CIAA (SWA) Lead Administrator of the Year by her peers. Stacey-Suggs is in her fourth season as associate athletic director/senior administrator and sixth overall with Claflin University’s athletics department. She is also the Chief Compliance Officer and Co-Advisor of Chi Alpha Sigma, the National College Athlete Honor Society, inducting founding members of the university. As SWA, she contributes to the policies and procedures of the UC Athletic Department to achieve the parallel goals of developing quality competitive athletic teams and supporting individual student-athlete educational goals.

Anthony Jeffries of Saint Augustine University has been named CIAA John Holley’s Sports Information Director (SID) of the Year. Jeffries is a 17-year veteran in the sports information field and is responsible for coordinating media relations efforts for Saint Augustine’s 12 sports programs. A fixture in the SAU athletic department since 2005, Jeffries is a respected member among his peers in the CIAA and the sports communications field for his tireless effort to secure coverage of Falcons and student-athletic programs. athletes through press releases, recaps, and amplified engagement on social media platforms. Jeffries is a three-time recipient of this honor, having received it in 2008 and 2012.

Virginia State University won the CH Williams Men’s All-Sports Award while Fayetteville State University won the Loretta Taylor Women’s All-Sports Award. Both recognitions are awarded annually to the CIAA institution with the best male and female sports programs based on a points system.

The VSU men have won three championships in cross country, indoor track and field and outdoor track. The Trojans win the Williams Prize for the sixth consecutive year.

The FSU women won the triple crown in cross country, indoor track and field (co-champion) outdoor track and field and won the women’s volleyball title.

Johnson C. Smith University’s Department of Athletics received the Most Positive Playing Environment award. Selected by members of the CIAA’s Student-Athlete Advisory Committee (SAAC), the award is presented to the school that demonstrates good sportsmanship among student-athletes and coaches in home and away competitions. the outside.

For the latest CIAA information, visit or follow the conference on social media via Facebook (The CIAA), Twitter (@CIAAForLife) and Instagram (@CIAASports).

Andrew B. Reiter