Harvard Alumni Association Committee Announces Nominees for Board of Directors and Elected Directors | New

Harvard on Tuesday announced the nominees for positions on the board of trustees – the university’s second governing body – and for elected trustee positions in the Harvard Alumni Association.

The board of trustees is responsible for advising on decisions affecting the leadership of the university, advising senior Harvard trustees, and approving certain actions of the university’s highest board, Harvard. Corporation. Its members serve a six-year term.

The eight Harvard alumni vying for the five anticipated vacancies on the board of directors work in a wide range of professional fields and live in the United States, Canada and Spain. They are: the Managing Director of Oncology Impact Fund and founder of Burrage Capital, Christiana G. Bardon; UN Special Envoy for Climate Action and Finance, Mark J. Carney ’87; Principal and Director of Business Development at HOK Group Kimberly N. Dowdell; Robert Morris University President Christopher B. Howard; President and CEO of Voto Latino Maria T. Kumar; US Circuit Judge Raymond J. Lohier Jr. ’88; Founding AI Partnership Executive Director Terah E. Lyons ’14; and Fullsky Partners reporter and co-founder Sheryl WuDunn.

Alumni can nominate additional candidates through a petition process, which requires 2,987 signatures from eligible voters by February 3.

Harvard Forward – a student and alumni organization that works to bring attention to climate action and racial justice issues on university governance boards – nominated three candidates for the Board of Directors to be nominated by petition: Yvette O. Efevbera, Megan H. Red Shirt-Shaw, and Natalie Unterstell.

The group successfully petitioned three of its five candidates to the five vacant Supervisory Board posts in the 2020 election, making it the first campaign to successfully petition a candidate for the post in more than three decades. Less than a month after the election ended, the Harvard Corporation and the Board of Overseers jointly imposed a new policy barring more than six petition-backed candidates from serving on the board at any time, drawing sharp criticism from representatives and supporters of Harvard Forward.

Elected Trustees of the Harvard Alumni Association represent alumni of the University and are focused on increasing alumni engagement around the world. The nine candidates vying for the six available seats are: MTV Entertainment Group Vice President Whitney SF Baxter ’07; co-founder and CEO of AdVon Commerce Benjamin T. Faw; spaceport development manager at SpaceX Jane A. Labanowski ’17; human resources business partner at Curriculum Associates Hannah M. Park ’13; director of the Dalai Lama Center for Ethics and Transformative Values ​​at MIT Tenzin Priyadarshi; author Rebecca C. Ribaudo ’93; founding partner of Portobello Capital Íñigo Sánchez-Asiaín; George A. Thampy, Senior Director of CareDx ’10; and screenwriter and television producer Maiya W. Verrone ’84.

The elections will begin on April 1 and end on May 18 at 5 p.m. All Harvard degree holders are eligible to vote for elected directors of the Harvard Alumni Association, either online or by traditional paper ballot. All Harvard degree holders – except members of the Harvard Corporation and alumni in academic or governance positions – are eligible to vote for board nominees.

– Editor Kelsey J. Griffin can be contacted at [email protected] Follow her on Twitter @kelseyjgriffin.

– Editor Jasper G. Goodman can be contacted at [email protected] Follow him on twitter @Jasper_Goodman.

Andrew B. Reiter