Lake County Bar Association honors several in Law Day celebration – News-Herald

The Law Day Committee, chaired by Lori Kilpeck and John Thomas of the Lake County Bar Associationheld its annual LaMalfa Law Day celebration in Mentor on May 6.

Law Day was established by President Dwight D. Eisenhower in 1958 and is celebrated annually on May Day to mark the nation’s commitment to the rule of law. The Law Day theme for 2022 was “Towards a More Perfect Union: The Constitution in Times of Change”, and the Law Day Committee was honored to have retired Justice Terrence O’Donnell of the Supreme Court of Ohio as keynote speaker.

The President’s Award is given to an attorney who is deemed by the Lake County Bar Association to provide “outstanding service to the community and service to the profession.” This year, the award was renamed in honor of Jodi Littman Tomaszewski, a highly respected lawyer and longtime member of the Law Day Committee. Tomaszewski, who died in 2021, epitomized the meaning and qualifications required of the President’s Award. Pamela Kurt, president of the Lake County Bar Association, had the honor of presenting this year’s award to John M. Rogers.

The Law Day Committee also presented Heather Clair, Chief Usher of Painesville Municipal Court, with the 2022 Liberty Bell Award. The award is given to a non-lawyer for outstanding service in one of these areas: 1. Promoting a better understanding of the Constitution and the Bill of Rights; 2. Encourage greater respect for the law and the courts; 3. Stimulate a deeper sense of individual responsibility so that citizens recognize their duties as well as their rights; 4. Contribute to the effective functioning of government institutions; and 5. Foster a better understanding and appreciation of the rule of law.

The group also recognized Sarah Steigerwald as an outstanding paralegal student at Lakeland Community College, and Abby Shazivari, a sophomore at Willoughby South High School, who won the school’s essay.

The Law Day Committee is grateful to its many sponsors and would like to thank everyone who helped make the 2022 Law Day celebration a huge success.

Andrew B. Reiter