SLU Alumni Association appoints Board of Directors | New

Hammond’s Stephanie Stafford Kropog has been elected President and 2022-23 Board Chair of the Southeastern Louisiana University Alumni Association.

A 1986 graduate of Southeastern with a bachelor of science in accounting, Kropog is director of medical services at the North Oaks Health System.

Kropog is a member of the Hammond Kiwanis Club, where she served on the board in 2005, the FeLions, where she is a member of the Champagne Bingo committee, and the Chamber of Commerce.

She will be joined on the executive committee by president-elect Michelle Blum Gallo, of Albany, with Crime Stoppers of Tangipahoa, Inc.; Treasurer Shane Purvis, of Mandeville, with Fidelity Bank; and Secretary Bridget Bankston LaBorde, of Tickfaw, with Northshore Technical Community College.

Executive Director of Alumni Relations Michelle Biggs said board members devote their time and expertise to fulfilling the association’s mission of strengthening ties between the university, alumni and community.

“The council is made up of a wide range of people who represent the entire alumni base. Each member serves a two-year term and their job is to help further the mission of the Alumni Association in tandem with that of Southeastern,” Biggs said. “They promote pride, assist in student recruitment efforts, act as mentors, preserve the traditions of the university, and encourage active membership in the association.”

Also on the board as new members are Scott Adams, of Denham Springs, with Dow Chemical Company; Amy Caron Gowland, of Mandeville, with St. Tammany Health System; Kenneth Terrell, of Cedar Hill, Texas, with the Dallas County Sheriff’s Office; Donna Graham Wallette, of Hammond, with Holy Ghost Catholic School, and Joel Klein, of Covington, with Joel Klein Insurance Agency.

Returning board members include Makeitta Darbonne Citizen, of Lake Charles, with Southwest Louisiana Credit Union; Michael DuBois, of Hammond, owner of DuBois Resources and Solutions; and Nakia Merrill, of Addison, Texas, with Cedar Valley College.

Biggs said as part of Kropog’s incoming presidential duties, she has appointed two one-year appointees to the board of directors to supplement alumni representation over the coming year. These include Taylor Anthony, of Ponchatoula, with the 21st Judicial District Attorney’s Office, and Ashley Williams King, of Baton Rouge, with BXS Insurance.

Andrew B. Reiter