Soybean Association chooses leadership – Effingham’s News and Sports Leader, 979XFM and KJ Country 102.3

Published on August 5, 2022 09:08

Last updated on Aug 5, 2022 9:09 AM

The Illinois Soybean Association (ISA) elected new officers at its July board meeting.

Steve Pitstick, District 2, was re-elected president of the organization. Steve produces corn and soybeans near Maple Park, Illinois. He holds an associate’s degree from Kishwaukee Community College and has previously been active with the Kane County Farmland Protection Commission, Kaneland Sports Boosters, Kane County Farm Bureau and his church. Pitstick has also participated in the Illinois Farm Leadership Program, Illinois Farm Leadership Foundation, Farm Leaders of Tomorrow, and served as a Soybean Ambassador. He currently also works as an advisor for start-up agricultural technology companies.

“I look back on the last year and all that we’ve accomplished, and I’m proud to say that we’ve had measurable impacts,” says Pitstick. “Since the passage of crucial legislation, the opening of the Lombard office, welcoming the US President to an Illinois soybean farm and more, I look forward to serving the soybean farmers of the Illinois for another term. We have an exciting future ahead of us.

Other elected members of the Executive Committee include: Vice President Ron Kindred, Atlanta, Illinois, Treasurer Bryan Severs, Potomac, Illinois, Secretary Tim Scates, Carmi, Illinois, and Assistant Secretary-Treasurer Dwayne Anderson, Lynn Center, Illinois. Joining the executive committee is Brad Daugherty, West Union, Illinois, as chair of the government relations committee, Brady Holst, Plymouth, Illinois, as chair of the usage committee, and Scott Gaffner, Greenville, Illinois, as Chairman of the Market Development Committee.

The ISA has a total Board of Directors of 18 district managers and six statewide general managers who work on behalf of Illinois soybean growers and the levy. Each member of the Board of Directors sits on one of the following committees: government relations, utilization or market development. To learn more about becoming an ISA Board Member, visit

Andrew B. Reiter