The Trade Finance Association of Bankers is holding its 25th Annual General Meeting for 2022/2023 – The Island

The Trade Finance Association of Bankers (TFAB) recently held its 25th Annual General Meeting at the Rainbow Room, Grand Oriental Hotel, Colombo. This year is important as the TFAB celebrates its silver jubilee.

The Trade Finance Association of Bankers’, which was established in 1997, is the trade association for bankers committed to providing advice on trade finance solutions to its clientele.

Members include staff from almost every commercial bank operating in Sri Lanka and the membership of the board fully reflects the diversity and breadth of its membership. The Association is supported by an eminent advisory committee made up of four senior bankers and the former presidents of TFAB A.

Kathiravelupillai (Inaugural Chairman of TFAB and former DGM – International of Bank of Ceylan), Michael Peiris (Former Head of Commerce of Union Bank of Colombo PLC), Nilam Jumat (Former AGM – International of Hatton National Bank PLC), and Thushy David (former Director, Head of Global Subsidiary Coverage, Head of Commerce Sales and Cash Management of Deutsche Bank).

Lawrian Somanader, Managing Director – Export Managers at Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC was unanimously elected President of the Association for the second consecutive year.

He said the team will continue to focus on developing its members by enhancing professional knowledge and sharpening the skills of trade practitioners involved in import and export business. Despite the current economic crisis and highly volatile exchange rate, international trade will continue to grow in importance as businesses and banks see this segment as the main contributor to their overall performance.

Office members:

Chairman – Lawrian Somanader – Chief Director, Exports, Commercial Bank of Ceylon PLC

Senior Vice President – ​​Rochelle Fernando – Deputy Managing Director – Trade Services – Bank of Ceylon

Vice President – ​​Shyam De Silva – Senior Operations Manager, Centralized Trade Processing – Hatton National Bank PLC

Corporate Secretary – KR Naguleswaran – Assistant Vice President, Correspondent Banking and Remittances – DFCC Bank PLC

Treasurer – Kasun Muthukuda – Director, Commercial Services – Nations Trust Bank PLC

Assistant Secretary – Indika Liyanage – Senior Director, Commercial Services – Pan Asia Banking Corporation PLC

Assistant Treasurer – Kanchana De Silva – Senior Manager – Business Operations – Union Bank of Colombo PLC,

Board Members: Gaya Manamperi (formerly Sampath Bank PLC), Manjula Gunawardana (NDB Bank PLC), Susantha Weerasinghe (Banque Populaire), Tharinda Amarasinghe (Sampath Bank PLC), Niranjan Dabare (Deutsche Bank AG), K. K Susantha ( Bank of Ceylan), Halin Hettigoda (Sampath Bank PLC), Shaariz Zabith (The Hongkong and Shanghai Banking Corporation Limited), Dilan Wijegoonawardhana (Seylan Bank PLC), Shehani Peter (Standard Chartered Bank), Eranda Weerakoon (Doha Bank), Harsha Silva (Citi Bank NA), Mahesha Hassan (public bank)

Past Chairman: ASMW Kumarasiri (Deputy Managing Director, Trade Finance, People’s Bank)

Andrew B. Reiter